Jmhuebner's Blog
Just another WordPress.com weblog

Press the Easy Button

“I’ve always been fascinated with the idea that complexity can come out of such simplicity.” Will Wright

My journey to RSS began by trying to connect to a newsletter called The Daily which is the course newsletter for George Siemans (or as EM would say, Hor hay) and Stephen Downes online course Connectivism and Connective Knowledge. The innovateonline site is no longer available as of the fall of 2009, so I had to do some Google digging to find it.  But I did, and now it is part of my Google reader.

I was clicking and adding when I decided to do the tutorial for the Google reader and came across a VERY amusing letter about allowing certain phrases from Monty Python movies to be allowed for movies for children and not others. I sent that to my sister via the email click and a fun conversation ensued.  I also found an informational feed about a data chart that clearly misrepresents the data – proving figures can lie and liars can figure, so I emailed THAT to my data geek colleague.  I added stars to some, and added one to Delicious for the class.

Next I added the Huffington Post to my reader.   This is a blog by Chris Lehmann, who brought up a great point about the Waiting for Superman movie I’ve been talking about in my blogs.  In it, he states:

“We should have a great debate in this country about education. Educational ideas are — and should be — controversial. How we teach, what we teach, how we assess students… these ideas should be debated and discussed at dinner tables and PTA meetings across this country.

That’s not the discussion we’re having.

What is going on right now has little to do with education. We are having a labor debate masquerading as an education debate. And that’s an important debate to have, but it’s not really about education, and we should recognize that.”

Chris goes on to provide ways to get involved in a more meaningful debate about education:  write the media, attend school board meetings and ask questions, be a catalyst for conversation in your neighborhood.  I really liked this blog.  It states information, poses questions, and supplies some action steps.  I know if there are more like this in this feed I will continue to benefit from the nuggets.  Even better, I received an invitation from LMR today to participate in a screening of the move and public conversation after the movie – I’m excited to use some of his points and suggestions.

So – comparing this experience to Delicious – I’m feeling less stuffed by the experience and excited by the ability to not only bring in the information in a quick and easy way, but to also do something with it by sharing it quickly with others with the click of a button.  They don’t have to be subscribers, they just have to have an email address.  RSS feeds get an EASY BUTTON in terms of a tool for sharing content for me.  So far.

3 Responses to “Press the Easy Button”

  1. I enjoyed reading about the connections you made from reading some blog posts and sharing information with people in your “network.” Creating a customized flow of information that you then redistribute and share is at the core of what networked learning is about for me. It functions as an amplifier…and I guess can serve to inspire and build connections among groups and communities.

  2. I agree with you on the idea that Delicious can be a huge monster. I see it more like a serious research tool, similar to RefWorks. But Google Reader and the RSS are fun. Delicious is the whole cake that I don’t want to mess up, but the cupcakes–RSS & Google Reader–are individually wrapped, and I can eat several of them, in different flavors. The only problem with RSS feeds is that they’re not as portable as Delicious and Google Reader.

  3. Love the post, JH! Thanks for the shout out!!!


Leave a Reply

