Jmhuebner's Blog
Just another WordPress.com weblog

Feeling a bit like Jabba the Hutt

“Mmmmmm. Uga. Spasteelia a bunkadunka. Race a spuce adoobla.”
Welcome! Let the race begin.     JTH

I’m feeling a bit like Jabba the Hutt.  NOT because I’m considering a life of organized crime, but because I’m beginning a life of organized links.  I feel full and fat after just one hour on Delicious.  There are way too many ‘tasty links’ and I have work to do and a life to live.  So now I’m wondering how to go on a PLN diet.  What type of links should be considered high calorie and high fat content?  What ones are full of fiber and nutrients?

I know the best way to help others leverage their networks is to learn for myself, and Will Richardson agrees with this assessment on his web page The Innovative Educator (one of the tasty links).   He suggests joining a professional social network first, adding blogs (no more than 5 to begin with) to follow, set up subscriptions, and start conversing.  Looking at the date on this advice, it is two years old!  How much has changed since then?  Will my heart ever feel less of a flutter of anxiety when viewing sites like his where comments are scrolling and RSS feeds are updating as you are trying to read?

How are others attacking this issue?  I need a can of slimfast!

3 Responses to “Feeling a bit like Jabba the Hutt”

  1. I felt the same way, J. I got “tag happy” and now I feel like I’m diluting my experience. I’m interested to hear if others feel the same!

  2. I feel like Jabba and any other heavy weight character too. I think the way I have managed to keep up with technology in the classroom, blogs, etc., is by choosing one or two topics and indulge myself for a couple of days or months–just like the calorie fests with cookies–and then move on to a new obsession. This is a concept that I have used to learn photography on my own. For one week or two I only use a feature of my camera. After I feel comfortable with it, I change to a different feature that’s similar. Once or twice a week, I read something new. Also, in order to rest a little, I choose a weekend or a weekday in which I don’t read anything related to school, but try to read for pleasure.

    For some reason, I read faster when I read online, and if I already know the topic, I don’t feel the need the read absolutely everything, or to check all the links.

  3. You crack me up…Jabba the Hutt…especially since I’ve just finished watching Star Wars w/ my 6yr old sun. Jabba is the model of gorging, yes?

    My experience suggests that this is a common feeling in our age of information abundance…like the bumper sticker says…”If you are not overwhelmed, you are not paying attention.” It seems like you are certainly paying attention and trying to make good decisions about where to direct your attention. Having awareness about the tools and how to use them judiciously takes time and practice.

    As you continue the journey here the advice from Will Richardson is spot on and a good way to pace and manage participation and learning. Paying attention to what is working for you is important, and can support how you might offer guidance for others down the road.

    Simply being / stating that we are overwhelmed is the equivalent of keeping our heads in the sand…we spin…finding ways to access and fine tune our skills at finding / applying information seem paramount here.


Leave a Reply

